Tim Reed, Caroline Steffen champions at Cebu Ironman 70.3 in Philippines

Tim Reed from Australia and Caroline Steffen from Switzerland were the 2015 Champions of Cobra Ironman 70.3 in Cebu, Philippines. The biggest race in Asia had over 2.400 participants and was selected to host the Asia Pacific Ironman 70.3 Championships in 2016.

Men’s Race

Australian Clayton Fettel  was the first out of the water in 00:21:47, on his feet it was Sam Betten, the duo had a minute gap to the chase pack that included most of the pre-race favorites, Tim Reed, Tim Van Berkel, Pete jabos, Luke McKenzie, Craig Alexander, Brent McMahon, Mitch Robins and Matt Franklin.

Once on the bike, the chase pack quickly bridged the gap to the two leaders, it was then a large pack of ten men until the thirty kilometer mark, when the group split in two, on the first group it was Luke McKenzie, Tim Reed, Tim Van Berkel, Brent McMahon, Luke McKenzie, Craig Alexander. At the 45km mark, Craig Alexander got dropped from the lead group and in the final 10km it was Luke McKenzie who let the leading trio open a small gap to transition.

Once on the run, Tim Reed and Tim Van Berkel quickly opened a gap to Brent McMahon from Canada, and the two Australians ran switched the lead and were never more than fifty meters apart, Tim Reed took advantage of his natural speed over Van Berkel and managed to take home the win by a couple seconds. Brent McMahon came in third.

Reed, Tim 00:22:57 02:03:21 01:16:35 03:46:03
Van Berkel, Tim 00:22:58 02:03:15 01:16:42 03:46:05
McMahon, Brent 00:22:51 02:03:17 01:21:01 03:50:23
Robins, Mitch 00:22:58 02:08:05 01:21:00 03:55:20
Alexander, Craig 00:23:01 02:07:53 01:22:50 03:57:11
See also:  World Class Trio of Kienle, Raelert and O’Donnel set for an epic battle at the Ironman European Championship in Frankfurt
Tim Reed outsprinted Tim Van Berkel to take the win at the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 in Cebu, Philippines
Tim Reed outsprinted Tim Van Berkel to take the win at the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 in Cebu, Philippines

Women’s Race

Caroline Steffen was the first out of the water in 00:24:01, she had one minute forty seconds gap to Kathryn Haesner from New Zealand and Belinda Granger from Australia,  another two of the pre-race favorites, Dimity-Lee Duke and Beth Gerdes were four and a half minutes back from the leader.

Steffen held onto her lead on the bike until she had a mechanical, Belinda Granger caught up and they rode together but it wasnt Steffen luckest day and she crashed, back on the bike and still managed to come into transition two minutes ahead of Belinda Granger. It was then a pack of three including Kathryn, Dimity-Lee and Beth Gerdes together five minutes after the leader.

With a comfortably lead, Steffen ran a 01:30:25 which was still the second best run split of the day to cross the finish line in first place, Beth Gerdes had the day’s best run split in 01:29:14 and ran up to second place, Dimity-Lee Duke finished third in


Steffen, Caroline 00:24:01 02:25:44 01:30:25 04:23:54
Gerdes, Beth 00:28:40 02:26:48 01:29:14 04:29:07
Duke, Dimity-Lee 00:28:33 02:26:20 01:30:28 04:29:36
Haesner, Kathryn 00:25:50 02:29:00 01:33:08 04:32:15
Torres, Monica 00:34:04 02:27:02 01:34:36 04:39:37
Caroline Steffen wins the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 in Cebu, Philippines
Caroline Steffen wins the 2015 Cobra Ironman 70.3 in Cebu, Philippines



Ironman 70.3 Cebu: Best Photos

Follow us
Share this article