Langkawi Island All Set for Saturday’s Ironman Malaysia

Mike Aigross of Switzerland and Diana Riesler from Germany were the winners of the 2015 Ironman Langkawi in Malaysia.  While Riesler will be back to defend her title, and seeking a three-peat, Aigros is noticeably missing in the startlist.

That makes last year’s runner-up Fredrik Croneborg of Sweden, who was only 10 seconds behind Aigross last year , and 3rd placer Harry Wiltshire of Great Britain as prohibitive favorites to win the title.  Dark horses should be Tyler Butterfield of Bermuda, who won Ironman 70.3 Timberland last August, and Antony Costes of France, who is training out of Thanyapura Phuket, and recent winner of Challenge Kachanaburi.  See below the 32-man pro line-up:


See related post: Ironman Langkawi: Final Prep and Raceday Guide to Malaysia


In the women’s race, 2-time champion Riesler will be challenged by Belgian Tine Deckers, who is having a great 2016 season so far, with 70.3 wins in Puerto Rico and Pays D’Aix, and a win in Ironman France.

The pros will be joined by more than a thousand age-group athletes.  The ocean swim starts from the picturesque white sandy beach of Pantai Kok with a two-loop triangle out and back course. A two-loop bike course heads out of Pantai Kok on to a clockwise loop from towards the rolling hills of Datai and the fringes of Kuah Town. Athletes will return from the bike into an unique indoor air conditioned transition at the Mahsuri International Exhibition Center (next to the airport) . The new 2 lap run course will be an amazing scenic run beside the Langkawi International Airport towards the finish line at the stunning Cenang beach.

See also:  Challenge Family: 3 Pro Tips to Nail your Triathlon Swim Start

See Related Posts: Ironman Malaysia-Langkawi Course Review

Take a look at last year’s video highlights:

Stay tuned as AsiaTRI will be there to cover the race.

Follow us
Share this article