Jan Frodeno wins the 2016 Laureus World Sports Awards (action sportsperson)

The Laureus World Sports Awards is held annually, celebrating the most remarkable men and women from the world of sport along with their achievements from the previous calendar year.

To find the winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards a Selection Panel of the world’s leading sports editors, writers and broadcasters vote to create a shortlist of six nominations in five categories—Laureus World Sportsman of the Year, Laureus World Sportswoman of the Year, Laureus World Team of the Year, Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year and Laureus World Comeback of the Year. The nominations for two additional categories—the Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year and the Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability—are produced by Specialist Panels.

It’s was the first time that a triathlete had been nominated in the annual Laureus World Sports Awards, and last night in Berlin, Germany, 2008 Olympic Triathlon Champion Jan Frodeno was presented with the Action Sportsperson of the Year trophy.

Frodeno’s 2015 season was, almost, perfect. Winning the Ironman World Championships in Kona, the Ironman 70.3 World Championships in Zell am See and the Ironman European Championships in Frankfurt, Frodeno has cemented his position as the undisputed world number one in long distance triathlon. Frodeno is the first athlete, male or female, to win both the Olympic Gold medal in triathlon and the Ironman World Championship.

The other nominees on the action sportsperson 2016 were surfer Adriano De Souza, skateboarder Bob Burnquist, downhill mountain biker Rachel Atherton, snowboarder Chloe Kim and surfer Mick Fanning

See also:  Ironman 70.3 Sydney Returns in Style


Full list of winners

  • Sportsman of the Year – Novak Djokovic (Tennis)
  • Sportswoman of the Year – Serena Williams (Tennis)
  • Team of the Year – All Blacks (Rugby Union)
  • Comeback of the Year – Dan Carter (Rugby Union)
  • Breakthrough of the Year – Jordan Spieth (Golf)
  • Action Sportsperson of the Year – Jan Frodeno (Triathlon)
  • Sportsperson of the Year with a disability – Daniel Dias (Swimming)
  • Lifetime Achievement – Nikki Lauda (Motor Racing)
  • Sport for Good – Moving the Goalposts (Football-based community project)
  • Spirit of Sport – Johan Cruyff (Football)

Check the video:

Follow us
Share this article