Duathlon Champs Yee, Banatao, Aliligay Headline Clark Duathlon Classic Athlete Field

Clark, Philippines – March 8, 2024 -The stage is set for a thrilling display of athleticism and endurance as the Clark Duathlon Classic gears up to welcome an impressive lineup of duathlon champions from around the Philippines. Scheduled to take place in the duathlon capital of the Philippines,  Clark Freeport, this premier duathlon event promises to cement its status as a must-see event on the Philippine duathlon calendar.

At the forefront of this year’s competition are several standout athletes who have made their mark in the Philippine duathlon scene.  Among them is 2023 New Clark City Duathlon Champion Franklin Yee, who made minced meat of the infamous hills of New Clark City.  Yee, recent Elite champion of the recently-held Cebu Duathlon, is the prohibitive favorite to win the 5th Clark Duathlon Classic.

Past Champions of Titan 77.7 Philippines and Isabela TriClub members Jarwyn Banatao and Lowegene Aliligay are out to give Yee fierce competition, together with up and coming elites Prago Collins and PJ Aquino out of Pangasinan.

‘’After the recent success of the Age Group All-Stars category in our last event, the emergence of young, strong elite athletes in Clark Duathlon Classic is a welcome addition.  Yee, Aliligay and Banatao are part of GoClark  history and it really promises to be a race that must not be missed,’’ said Jumbo Tayag, GoClark Race Director.

Nearly 500 duathletes will converge in Filinvest Mimosa+ Leisure City and compete in  two distance categories, standard and sprint duathlon.  The run course will traverse inside the famous Acacia drive of Filinvest Mimosa+ and Clark Parade Grounds, and the bike course will feature the false flat terrains of Clark Freeport.

See also:  Best Photos: Ironman 70.3 Thailand 2017

The All-Stars category is here to stay with Rhia Stawicki and Celma “Chang” Hitalia leading the list for the women’s open category.   They will be joined by Kristine Bugna and Sandi Abahan, both of Isabela TriClub.  The men’s open category is up for grabs, with no clear favorite emerging from the list of Jeric Balanag, John Sequerra, Euan Liwanag, Randle Belleza, Yoejan Prudente, Alex Brondial and Justin Lu.

Abe Tayag (TriClark-Volvo) and Junrox Roque (Sante Barley) lead a tight field in the men’s masters category.   Perennial Age group champion John Villanueva will join the dual favorites along with duathlon newcomer from Isabela Noel Fabros.

“As we push Clark as the premier home of sports development in the country, the participants provide the anchor to entice more sports enthusiasts to use, stay, and enjoy Clark. We labor hard to make sure that our visitors to all the sports events will feel safe, secured, and happy. Soon, Clark will not just be a business hub, it will house tourism, entertainment, cuisine, culture, medical. and sports facilities and programs which would further cater to the multifarious needs and desires of our local and foreign constituents’’ added Clark Development Corporation VP for Admin and Finance, Mike Dela Rosa.

The Clark Duathlon Classic will be the 5th edition of the annual premier duathlon event.   It has sold out in the past 3 years.   Clark Duathlon Classic is supported by Cycles and Brew, Filinvest Mimosa Leisure City, Clark Development Corporation, Whey King Philippines, On Philippines, Ceepo, Clarkwater and StretchLab.

See also:  Ironman Western Australia: Luke McKenzie goes sub 8 hours, Sarah Pimpiano takes the female title
Follow us
Share this article