Dapena, Van Vlerken Winners of 2018 Challenge Mogan Gran Canaria

by Challenge Mogan Gran Canaria/images by majphotography.com

The current champion of long distance triathlon in Spain, Pablo Dapena, rose today, Saturday, April 21, as the winner of the third edition of the   Gloria Challenge Mogán Gran Canaria 2018 with a mark of 4 hours, 0 minutes and 25 seconds. The female category of the professional triathletes was dominated by the Dutch Yvonne Van Vlerken with a time of 4 hours, 38 minutes and 41 seconds.

Dapena has improved the mark of the winner of last year, the British Alistair Brownlee, who registered in 2017 a time of 4:03:09 hours. Thus, Dapena has cut something less than 3 minutes with respect to the winner of the previous edition. Upon reaching the finish line, the Spaniard was greeted by the applause of the crowded public after having debuted in this race, completing a 1.9-kilometer swim, 90-kilometer bike ride and 21-kilometer run on foot.

After Dapena, a scant 17 seconds, he crossed the finish line with the German Andi Böcherer in second position with a time of 4:00:42. The third place was for the current champion of the world in the Ironman of Hawaii 2017, the German Patrick Lange, with a mark of 4 hours, 1 minute and 17 seconds.

About five minutes after the arrival of the winner, the Dutch Yvonne Van Vlerken whose badge is her suit and bicycle of a live rose, got the second place of the professional category the Polish Ewa Komander, going through the goal with a time of 4:43:45 hours Finally, the current champion of Spain long distance triathlon, Anna Noguera, got the third position with a mark of 4:46:21 hours.

See also:  Gallery: 2018 Challenge Mogan Gran Canaria
Follow us
Share this article