Reed, Morris take titles in 2017 Bellevue 5150 in Bohol, Philippines

Tim Reed (AUS) outduelled fellow Aussie Sam Betten with a come from behind victory on his way to grabbing the Bellevue 5150 men’s elite title here at Pangalo Island, Bohol, Philippines.  Kerry Morris, also of Australia, held off a charging Dmity Lee Duke to secure the women’s elite title.

See the Best Images from the 2017 Bellevue 5150 Bohol

Men’s Race

In a slim field of Pros on the start line, which also includes the battle for the asian men’s elite, Sam Betten of Australia came out of the water first with a time of  19:42.  Reed followed closely behinds, 18 seconds off the leader.

Betten was able to held off Reed in the bike course, and posted the best bike split of the day at 55:45.   Reed felt flat on the bike, and could not generate the power to chip in on the gap.  Reed’s 56:13 split means Betten’s lead has grown to 49 seconds coming into the 10k run.

The run legs would be fresher though for Reed as he spotted Betten and passed him on the first half of the 10k run.   Reed’s run split of 37:52 would be the fastest of the race, and took him to the win and a finish time of 1:58:24, the day’s only sub-2 finish.

“It was tough but I poured it all out in the last part and I’m so glad to win. I really prepared hard for this, knowing how talent-laden the field is,” said Reed as he satisfyingly secured his first 5150 triumph.

Women’s Race

See also:  GTN: 9 Open Water Swimming Tips | Swim Skills For Beginners

Aussie Kerry Morris came out of the water first at 22:00 followed by American Laurel Wassner who timed 22:19.  Last year’s runner up Dimity Lee Duke was 3rd going into T1 with a swim time of 24:53.

With clear road beyond for Morris, she also posted the day’s best bike split among women of 1:01:59.  Duke mad a bit of a progress as she came into T2 second after posting a 1:02:05 split.

With some familiarity of the course  Duke got off to a quick start on the run, with the ultimately goal of chopping off the deficit to leader Morris.   Though Duke would post the best run split among women at 42:59, she would ran out of miles to ultimate pass Morris.  Morris’ run time of 46:09 would be enough to hold off her fellow countryman to secure her first win in Philippine soil.   Morris finished in 2:14:45, a 17 second victory over runner-up Duke (2:15:02).   Wassner finished in 2:24:08 to complete the winner’s podium.

The winner’s of the asian elite men title is Jerry Ycong (2:10:50) and 3rd overall men’s.  Edward Macalalad  (2:11:05) and Paul Jumamil (2:11:28) complete podium for the category.

Follow us
Share this article