Ryf, Kienle Headlines the 2016 Ironman 70.3 World Championships Pro Startlist

IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship Pro Start List

Sebastian Kienle (GER) and Daniela Ryf (SUI) headlines the top-notch professional field as Australia hosts the Ironman 70.3 World Championships for the first time.  More than 3000 athletes from over 70 countries  will compete at this prestigious race.


Sebastian Kienle, a two-time 70.3 world champion is the favorite to win the event, in the absence of defending champion Jan Frodeno (GER).   Kienle finished second to Frodeno in last year’s event in Austria.  Other former Ironman 70.3 champions in the field includes the ageless Craig Alexander (AUS) and  Terenzo Bozzone (NZL). Other notables in the men’s field who will compete for podium spots are Luke McKenzie (AUS), Tim Reed (AUS) fresh from the Asia-Pacific CHampionships win in the Philippines, and Joe Gambles of the USA.

Daniela Ryf is the heavy favorite in the women’s race, and is aiming for a 3-peat, being the champion in 2014 and 2015.  She will be challenged by 2-time champion Melissa Hauschildt (AUS) and former champion Leanda Cave (GBR).   Other top names in the women’s field include Canadians Heather Wurtele and Magali Tisseyre, Lindsey Corbin and Laura Bennett of the USA and Radka Vodickova (CZE).


2 Sebastian Kienle (GER)
3 Lionel Sanders (CAN)
4 Ruedi Wild (SUI)
5 Antony Costes (FRA)
6 Tim Reed (AUS)
8 Andreas Dreitz (GER)
9 Tim Don (GBR)
10 Craig Alexander (AUS)
11 Trevor Wurtele (CAN)
12 Jake Montgomery (AUS)
15 Samuel Appleton (AUS)
16 Taylor Reid (CAN)
17 Joe Gambles (AUS)
18 Josh Amberger (AUS)
20 Brent McMahon (CAN)
21 Terenzo Bozzone (NZL)
22 Christian Hoerper (GER)
23 Jan Van Berkel (SUI)
24 Maurice Clavel (GER)
25 Casey Munro (AUS)
26 Mitchell Robins (AUS)
27 Mike Phillips (NZL)
28 David Mainwaring (AUS)
29 Matthew Pellow (AUS)
30 Braden Currie (NZL)
31 Paulo Roberto Maciel da Silva (BRA)
32 Tyler Butterfield (BER)
33 Rodrigo Acevedo (USA)
34 Milosz Sowinski (POL)
35 Luke Mckenzie (AUS)
36 Igor Amorelli (BRA)
37 Guy Crawford (NZL)
38 Nicholas Kastelein (AUS)
39 David Breuer (GER)
40 Peter Kerr (AUS)
41 Mark Bowstead (NZL)
42 Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS)
43 Graham O’Grady (NZL)
44 Nick Baldwin (SYC)
45 Adam Gordon (AUS)
46 Tim George (AUS)
47 Michael Davidson (RSA)
48 Brad Williams (USA)
49 Mitchell Kibby (AUS)
50 Daniel Fontana (ITA)
52 Roberto Rivera (CHI)
53 Paul Schuster (GER)
54 Matt Franklin (NZL)
55 Mauro Baertsch (SUI)

See also:  THECHAMPIONSHIP welcomes Collins Cup and is ready for 'most amazing triathlon weekend' ever


101 Daniela Ryf (SUI)
102 Heather Wurtele (CAN)
104 Magali Tisseyre (CAN)
105 Caroline Steffen (SUI)
106 Annabel Luxford (AUS)
107 Holly Lawrence (GBR)
108 Lauren Barnett (USA)
109 Natascha Schmitt (GER)
110 Melissa Hauschildt (AUS)
111 Leanda Cave (GBR)
112 Radka Vodickova (CZE)
114 Alexandra Tondeur (BEL)
115 Alicia Kaye (USA)
116 Heather Lendway (USA)
117 Ricarda Lisk (GER)
118 Sarah Crowley (AUS)
119 Linsey Corbin (USA)
120 Laura Siddall (GBR)
121 Astrid Stienen (GER)
122 Nikki Bartlett (GBR)
123 Andrea Forrest (AUS)
124 Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
125 Lauren Brandon (USA)
126 Kate Bevilaqua (AUS)
127 Laura Philipp (GER)
128 Kirsty Jahn (CAN)
129 Katey Gibb (AUS)
130 Dimity‐Lee Duke (AUS)
132 Caroline Livesey (GBR)
133 Kate Pedley (AUS)
134 Jessica Mitchell (AUS)
137 Renee Baker (AUS)
138 Erika Simon (ARG)
139 Kym Coogan (AUS)
Read more at http://triathlon.competitor.com/2016/08/ironman/2016-ironman-70-3-world-championship-pro-start-lists_136112#kdk1DIu9ctAifbqZ.99

Follow us
Share this article