Bradley Weiss and Flora Duffy, wins XTerra Albay, Philippines

2014 Xterra World Champion Flora Duffy from Bermuda and Michael Weiss from South Africa were the winners of XTerra Albay, in the Philippines, the race was the opener event of the Asian XTerra series.

Men’s race

The day started with defending Champion and 2014 XTerra Philippines Champion, Australian Ben Allen leading the swim, followed closely, by two seconds, by Mexican Mauricio Mendez, Bradley Weiss was another twenty seconds back from Allen.

Once on the bike, Weiss took the lead and managed the day’s best bike split in 1:27:28, he reached transition two two minutes and a half ahead of Ben Allen who had another twenty seconds on Mauricio.

Mauricio had the day’s fastest run in 0:40:01, which was over a minute and a half faster than Weiss, but not enough to close the gap. Michawl Weiss finished first in 02:28:00, with Mauricio in 02:28:58, Ben Allen was 3rd in 02:33:51

Women’s race

Unlike the men’s race, the women’s watched a dominant performance by Flora Duffy leading the swim and just extending her lead to the finish line, Flora had the best splits across all three disciplines.

With a short course, ITU background, she was only nine seconds behind the men’s leader Ben Allen, and two minutes ahead of her nearest female competitor, Australian Jacqui Slack, and another minute ahead of Mieko Carey from Guam.

On the bike, Flora’s bike split of 1:40:07 was five minutes faster than jacqui, and by the time she reached transition two, she had over seven minutes gap to the second place.

See also:  Tim Reed, Parys Edwards, champions at Ironman 70.3 Subic Bay, Philippines

On the run, Flora ran a 0:44:57 to win the race in a total time of 2:43:40, her run split was six minutes faster than Jacqui’s, who held the second place in 2:56:51. The biggest mover was Australian Dimity-Lee Duke, who managed to overtake Mieko Carey and finished third in 03:03:18

The next XTerra event in Asia is in Langkawi (Malaysia) on May 2nd.


2014 XTerra World Champion was the winner of the 2015 XTerra Albay, in the Philippines
2014 XTerra World Champion, Flora Duffy, was the winner of the 2015 XTerra Albay, in the Philippines


Men’s Top Five Professionals:

1 Bradley Weiss South Africa 2:28:00
2 Mauricio Mendez Mexico 2:28:58
3 Ben Allen Australia 2:33:51
4 Brodie Gardner Australia 2:40:35
5 Charlie Epperson Guam 2:51:20

Women’s Top Five Professionals:

1 Flora Duffy Bermuda 2:43:40
2 Jacqui Slack Australia 2:56:51
3 Dimity Lee Duke Australia 3:03:18
4 Mieko Carey Guam 3:06:39
5 Renata Bucher Switzerland 3:12:53

Mens’s Filipino Elite Winners:

1 John Leerams Chicano 2:51:17
2 Billy Biag 2:54:04
3 Emmanuel Comendador 2:56:25

Women’s Filipino Elite Winners:

1 Anna Marissa Remigio 3:47:45
2 Noemi Andrea Galeos 4:01:48
3 Angelica Yvonne Limjoco 4:25:17
Follow us
Share this article